Autumn in New York

As the weather in New York had been unseasonably beautiful (for a day), we decided to take advantage of it and took a trip to Central Park in Manhattan to visit the zoo while also taking in the vibrant autumn scenery. The animals seemed to be enjoying the temperate weather as much as we were. The zoo is certainly the smallest I have ever been to, but it was enjoyable nonetheless to see and learn about all of the beautiful species that call it home.

dsc_0053dsc_0107dsc_0098dsc_0119dsc_0133

Central Park at this time of year is a magnificent sight to behold, and I’m glad that we were lucky enough to make an afternoon of exploring it.

dsc_0235dsc_0307dsc_0264

My sister and two nephews, Allen and Mason, accompanied us and had a fun time climbing the rocks and playing on the playgrounds. Allen supplied us with plenty of “fun facts” while we were exploring, including that the blue whale is endangered and that the landscape architect of the park was Frederick Law Olmsted.

dsc_0255dsc_0254

While we continued down the park, I found myself in awe of all of the vivid colors of the trees. The park had so much life to it. I wasn’t the only one who stopped to snap a few photos…

dsc_0277dsc_0112dsc_0317dsc_0354

Our little tour of Central Park, for me, was one of the highlights of our trip to New York this autumn. I can’t wait to return and explore it even further. It’s going to take multiple more visits to the city before I can say that I’ve seen the entirety of this truly special park.

dsc_0335

Leave a Reply

